APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 4 hours 35 min ago

The Matter of the Bullet Cluster

Sat, 21/01/2017 - 07:00

What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster? What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster?


Stardust in the Perseus Molecular cloud

Fri, 20/01/2017 - 07:00

Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape. Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape.


When Mars met Neptune

Thu, 19/01/2017 - 07:00

On January 1, a On January 1, a


Edge On NGC 891

Wed, 18/01/2017 - 07:00

Edge On NGC 891 Edge On NGC 891


Mimas, Crater, and Mountain

Tue, 17/01/2017 - 07:00

Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a


Sentinels of a Northern Sky

Mon, 16/01/2017 - 07:00

Who guards the north? Who guards the north?


In the Center of Spiral Galaxy NGC 5033

Sun, 15/01/2017 - 07:00

What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033? What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033?


IC 4406: A Seemingly Square Nebula

Sat, 14/01/2017 - 07:00

How can a round star make a square nebula?  How can a round star make a square nebula?


Sharpless 249 and the Jellyfish Nebula

Fri, 13/01/2017 - 07:00

Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in


New York Harbor Moonset

Thu, 12/01/2017 - 07:00

Moonset on January 1 is captured in this sea and night sky snapshot Moonset on January 1 is captured in this sea and night sky snapshot


Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273

Wed, 11/01/2017 - 07:00

Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273 Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273


Clouds of Andromeda

Tue, 10/01/2017 - 07:00

The beautiful Andromeda Galaxy is often imaged by The beautiful Andromeda Galaxy is often imaged by


Pandora Close up at Saturn

Mon, 09/01/2017 - 07:00

What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?  What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?


Comet 45P Returns

Sun, 08/01/2017 - 07:00

An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System. An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System.


A Full Sky Aurora Over Norway

Sat, 07/01/2017 - 07:00

Higher than the Higher than the


Infrared Trifid

Fri, 06/01/2017 - 07:00

The Trifid Nebula, The Trifid Nebula,