APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 5 hours 29 min ago

A First Glimpse of the Great American Eclipse

Thu, 07/09/2017 - 06:00

Making landfall in Oregon, the Making landfall in Oregon, the


Lunar View, Solar Eclipse

Wed, 06/09/2017 - 17:00

Swinging around the Swinging around the


Panoramic Eclipse Composite with Star Trails

Tue, 05/09/2017 - 15:00

What was happening in the sky during last week's total solar eclipse? What was happening in the sky during last week's total solar eclipse?


Saturn in Blue and Gold

Mon, 04/09/2017 - 14:00

Why is Saturn partly blue? Why is Saturn partly blue?


A Fleeting Double Eclipse of the Sun

Sun, 03/09/2017 - 12:00

Last week, for a fraction of a second, the Sun was eclipsed twice. Last week, for a fraction of a second, the Sun was eclipsed twice.


The Heart Nebula in Hydrogen, Oxygen, and Sulfur

Sat, 02/09/2017 - 10:00

What powers the Heart Nebula?  What powers the Heart Nebula?


Hurricane Harvey Strengthens

Fri, 01/09/2017 - 08:00

A large and dangerous hurricane has developed in the Gulf of Mexico. A large and dangerous hurricane has developed in the Gulf of Mexico.


Diamond Ring in a Cloudy Sky

Thu, 31/08/2017 - 06:00

As the Moon's shadow swept across the As the Moon's shadow swept across the


The Eagle and The Swan

Wed, 30/08/2017 - 17:00

The Eagle Nebula and the Swan Nebula span The Eagle Nebula and the Swan Nebula span


The Crown of the Sun

Tue, 29/08/2017 - 15:00

The Crown of the Sun The Crown of the Sun


A Total Solar Eclipse over Wyoming

Mon, 28/08/2017 - 13:00

Will the sky be clear enough to see the eclipse? Will the sky be clear enough to see the eclipse?


Milky Way over Chilean Volcanoes

Sun, 27/08/2017 - 11:00

Sometimes, the sky mimics the ground. Sometimes, the sky mimics the ground.


Time Lapse: A Total Solar Eclipse

Sat, 26/08/2017 - 09:00

 A Total Solar Eclipse  Time Lapse: A Total Solar Eclipse


Total Solar Eclipse of 1979

Fri, 25/08/2017 - 07:00

From cold, clear skies over Riverton, Manitoba, Canada, planet Earth, From cold, clear skies over Riverton, Manitoba, Canada, planet Earth,


Perseids over the Pyrenees

Thu, 24/08/2017 - 05:00

Perseids over the Pyrenees Perseids over the Pyrenees


NGC 2442: Galaxy in Volans

Wed, 23/08/2017 - 16:00

 Galaxy in Volans NGC 2442: Galaxy in Volans


Perseid by the Sea

Tue, 22/08/2017 - 14:00

Just after moonrise on August 12 this grain of cosmic sand Just after moonrise on August 12 this grain of cosmic sand