APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 12 hours 2 min ago

Crescent Enceladus

Wed, 15/02/2017 - 10:00

Peering from the shadows, the Peering from the shadows, the


The Butterfly Nebula from Hubble

Tue, 14/02/2017 - 08:00

The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often


NGC 6357: The Lobster Nebula

Mon, 13/02/2017 - 19:00

Why is the Lobster Nebula forming some of the most massive stars known? Why is the Lobster Nebula forming some of the most massive stars known?


The Porpoise Galaxy from Hubble

Sun, 12/02/2017 - 17:00

What's happening to this spiral galaxy? What's happening to this spiral galaxy?


Odysseus Crater on Tethys

Sat, 11/02/2017 - 15:00

Some moons wouldn't survive the collision.  Some moons wouldn't survive the collision.


Conjunction of Four

Fri, 10/02/2017 - 13:00

On January 31, a waxing crescent Moon, brilliant Venus, On January 31, a waxing crescent Moon, brilliant Venus,


Milky Way with Airglow Australis

Thu, 09/02/2017 - 11:00

Milky Way with Airglow Australis Milky Way with Airglow Australis


NGC 1316: After Galaxies Collide

Wed, 08/02/2017 - 09:00

An example of violence on a cosmic scale, enormous An example of violence on a cosmic scale, enormous


Four Planets Orbiting Star HR 8799

Tue, 07/02/2017 - 07:00

Does life exist outside our Solar System? Does life exist outside our Solar System?


Where to See the American Eclipse

Mon, 06/02/2017 - 07:00

Are you planning to see the Are you planning to see the


The Cat's Eye Nebula from Hubble

Sun, 05/02/2017 - 07:00

To some, it may look like a cat's eye. To some, it may look like a cat's eye.


Red Aurora Over Australia

Sat, 04/02/2017 - 07:00

Why would the sky glow red? Why would the sky glow red?


N159 in the Large Magellanic Cloud

Fri, 03/02/2017 - 07:00

Over 150 light-years across, this Over 150 light-years across, this


Venus Through Water Drops

Thu, 02/02/2017 - 07:00

Venus Through Water Drops Venus Through Water Drops


GOES-16: Moon over Planet Earth

Wed, 01/02/2017 - 07:00

Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station,


Cassinis Grand Finale Tour at Saturn

Tue, 31/01/2017 - 07:00

Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn. Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn.