APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 5 hours 53 min ago

Wanderers

Sat, 05/05/2018 - 08:00

How far out will humanity explore? How far out will humanity explore?


Magellanic Mountain

Fri, 04/05/2018 - 07:00

Magellanic Mountain Magellanic Mountain


Gaia's Milky Way

Thu, 03/05/2018 - 18:00

Gaia's Milky Way Gaia's Milky Way


The Snows of Churyumov Gerasimenko

Wed, 02/05/2018 - 16:00

The Snows of Churyumov Gerasimenko The Snows of Churyumov Gerasimenko


Hubble's Jupiter and the Shrinking Great Red Spot

Tue, 01/05/2018 - 14:00

What will become of Jupiter's Great Red Spot? What will become of Jupiter's Great Red Spot?


Play Saturn's Rings Like a Harp

Mon, 30/04/2018 - 12:00

Play Saturn's Rings Like a Harp Play Saturn's Rings Like a Harp


The Blue Horsehead Nebula in Infrared

Sun, 29/04/2018 - 10:00

The Blue Horsehead Nebula looks quite different in infrared light. The Blue Horsehead Nebula looks quite different in infrared light.


Meteor Over Crater Lake

Sat, 28/04/2018 - 08:00

Did you see it? Did you see it?


TESS Launch Close Up

Fri, 27/04/2018 - 07:00

NASA's NASA's


Moon in the Hyades

Thu, 26/04/2018 - 18:00

Moon in the Hyades Moon in the Hyades


NGC 7635: The Bubble Nebula

Wed, 25/04/2018 - 16:00

Blown by the wind from a massive star, this interstellar Blown by the wind from a massive star, this interstellar


Milky Way over Deadvlei in Namibia

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

What planet is this?  What planet is this?


M57: The Ring Nebula

Mon, 23/04/2018 - 12:00

Except for the rings Except for the rings


Flyover of Jupiters North Pole in Infrared

Sun, 22/04/2018 - 10:00

What would it look like to fly over the North Pole of Jupiter? What would it look like to fly over the North Pole of Jupiter?


Space Shuttle Rising

Sat, 21/04/2018 - 08:00

What's that rising from the clouds?  What's that rising from the clouds?


Martian Chiaroscuro

Fri, 20/04/2018 - 07:00

Martian Chiaroscuro Martian Chiaroscuro


Facing NGC 3344

Thu, 19/04/2018 - 06:00

From our vantage point in the From our vantage point in the


M22 and the Wanderers

Wed, 18/04/2018 - 17:00

M22 and the Wanderers M22 and the Wanderers


Fortuitous Flash Candidate for the Farthest Star Yet Seen

Tue, 17/04/2018 - 15:00

Was this flash the farthest star yet seen? Was this flash the farthest star yet seen?


Dragon Aurora over Norway

Mon, 16/04/2018 - 13:00

What's that in the sky? What's that in the sky?