APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 3 min ago

An Airplane in Front of the Moon

Mon, 09/07/2018 - 16:00

If you look closely at the Moon, you will see a large airplane in front of it. If you look closely at the Moon, you will see a large airplane in front of it.


From the Galactic Plane through Antares

Sun, 08/07/2018 - 15:00

Behold one of the most photogenic regions of the night sky, captured impressively. Behold one of the most photogenic regions of the night sky, captured impressively.


Fresh Tiger Stripes on Saturn's Enceladus

Sat, 07/07/2018 - 13:00

Do underground oceans vent through the tiger stripes on Saturn's moon Enceladus?  Do underground oceans vent through the tiger stripes on Saturn's moon Enceladus?


The East 96th Street Moon

Fri, 06/07/2018 - 11:00

The East 96th Street Moon The East 96th Street Moon


Messier 24: Sagittarius Star Cloud

Thu, 05/07/2018 - 09:00

 Sagittarius Star Cloud Messier 24: Sagittarius Star Cloud


Sigma Octantis and Friends

Wed, 04/07/2018 - 08:00

Sigma Octantis and Friends Sigma Octantis and Friends


Highlights of the Summer Sky

Tue, 03/07/2018 - 06:00

Highlights of the Summer Sky  Highlights of the Summer Sky


Dark Nebulas across Taurus

Mon, 02/07/2018 - 17:00

Sometimes even the dark dust of interstellar space has a serene beauty. Sometimes even the dark dust of interstellar space has a serene beauty.


Hayabusa2 Approaches Asteroid Ryugu

Sun, 01/07/2018 - 15:00

It looks like a big space diamond -- but with craters. It looks like a big space diamond -- but with craters.


Rocket Plume Shadow Points to the Moon

Sat, 30/06/2018 - 13:00

Why would the shadow of a Why would the shadow of a


Curiosity's Dusty Self

Fri, 29/06/2018 - 11:00

Curiosity's Dusty Self Curiosity's Dusty Self


Galaxy in a Crystal Ball

Thu, 28/06/2018 - 09:00

A small crystal ball seems to hold a whole galaxy in this A small crystal ball seems to hold a whole galaxy in this


Northern Lights and Noctilucent Clouds

Wed, 27/06/2018 - 07:00

Luminous skies after the near-solstice sunset on June 17 Luminous skies after the near-solstice sunset on June 17


Pillars of the Eagle Nebula in Infrared

Tue, 26/06/2018 - 18:00

Newborn stars are forming in the Eagle Nebula.  Newborn stars are forming in the Eagle Nebula.


Ancients of Sea and Sky

Mon, 25/06/2018 - 16:00

They may look like round rocks, but they're alive. They may look like round rocks, but they're alive.


An Active Prominence on the Sun

Sun, 24/06/2018 - 14:00

Sometimes the Sun's surface becomes a whirlwind of activity. Sometimes the Sun's surface becomes a whirlwind of activity.


Mars Engulfed

Sat, 23/06/2018 - 12:00

What's happened to Mars? What's happened to Mars?


Dusty With a Chance of Dust

Fri, 22/06/2018 - 10:00

Dusty With a Chance of Dust Dusty With a Chance of Dust


Little Planet Soyuz

Thu, 21/06/2018 - 08:00

Little Planet Soyuz Little Planet Soyuz


Six Planets from Yosemite

Wed, 20/06/2018 - 06:00

The five naked-eye planets, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, The five naked-eye planets, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn,