APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 9 hours 18 min ago

Magnetic Orion

Tue, 05/03/2019 - 07:00

Can magnetism affect how stars form? Can magnetism affect how stars form?


Simulation TNG50: A Galaxy Cluster Forms

Mon, 04/03/2019 - 18:00

How do clusters of galaxies form? How do clusters of galaxies form?


Red Sprite Lightning over Kununurra

Sun, 03/03/2019 - 16:00

What are those red filaments in the sky? What are those red filaments in the sky?


The Expanding Echoes of Supernova 1987A

Sat, 02/03/2019 - 14:00

Can you find supernova 1987A? Can you find supernova 1987A?


The Stars of the Triangulum Galaxy

Fri, 01/03/2019 - 12:00

The Stars of the Triangulum Galaxy The Stars of the Triangulum Galaxy


NGC 4565: Galaxy on Edge

Thu, 28/02/2019 - 10:00

Magnificent spiral galaxy Magnificent spiral galaxy


Reflections on vdB 9

Wed, 27/02/2019 - 08:00

Centered in a well-composed celestial still life, pretty, Centered in a well-composed celestial still life, pretty,


Doomed Star Eta Carinae

Tue, 26/02/2019 - 19:00

Eta Carinae may be about to explode.  Eta Carinae may be about to explode.


Comet Iwamoto Before Spiral Galaxy NGC 2903

Mon, 25/02/2019 - 18:00

It isn't every night that a comet passes a galaxy. It isn't every night that a comet passes a galaxy.


Dragon Aurora over Iceland

Sun, 24/02/2019 - 16:00

Have you ever seen a dragon in the sky? Have you ever seen a dragon in the sky?


Shadow of a Martian Robot

Sat, 23/02/2019 - 14:00

What if you saw your shadow on Mars and it wasn't What if you saw your shadow on Mars and it wasn't


NGC 2359: Thor's Helmet

Fri, 22/02/2019 - 13:00

NGC 2359 is a helmet-shaped cosmic cloud with NGC 2359 is a helmet-shaped cosmic cloud with


Opportunity at Perseverance Valley

Thu, 21/02/2019 - 11:00

Opportunity at Perseverance Valley Opportunity at Perseverance Valley


Solar System Family Portrait

Wed, 20/02/2019 - 09:00

Solar System Family Portrait Solar System Family Portrait


The Helix Nebula in Hydrogen and Oxygen

Tue, 19/02/2019 - 07:00

Is the Helix Nebula looking at you? Is the Helix Nebula looking at you?


Plane Crossing a Crescent Moon

Mon, 18/02/2019 - 18:00

No, this is not a good way to No, this is not a good way to


New Data: Ultima Thule Surprisingly Flat

Sun, 17/02/2019 - 16:00

Ultima Thule is not the object humanity thought that it was last month. Ultima Thule is not the object humanity thought that it was last month.


Venus Unveiled

Sat, 16/02/2019 - 14:00

What does What does


Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy

Fri, 15/02/2019 - 12:00

Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy


Moon, Four Planets, and Emu

Thu, 14/02/2019 - 10:00

Moon, Four Planets, and Emu Moon, Four Planets, and Emu