APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 7 min ago

R Leporis: A Vampire's Star

Tue, 06/11/2018 - 16:00

Better known as Better known as


Orionids Meteors over Inner Mongolia

Mon, 05/11/2018 - 14:00

Meteors have been shooting out from the constellation of Orion.  Meteors have been shooting out from the constellation of Orion.


Shells of Stars in Elliptical Galaxy PGC 42871

Sun, 04/11/2018 - 12:00

How do galaxies grow? How do galaxies grow?


Ultraviolet Earth from an Observatory on the Moon

Sat, 03/11/2018 - 10:00

Which planet is this? Which planet is this?


Airglow Borealis

Fri, 02/11/2018 - 08:00

Airglow Borealis Airglow Borealis


IC 59 and IC 63 in Cassiopeia

Thu, 01/11/2018 - 06:00

These bright rims and flowing shapes look ghostly on a cosmic scale. These bright rims and flowing shapes look ghostly on a cosmic scale.


Barnard 150: Seahorse in Cepheus

Wed, 31/10/2018 - 17:00

Light-years across, this Light-years across, this


Light Pillars over Whitefish Bay

Tue, 30/10/2018 - 15:00

What's happening in the sky? What's happening in the sky?


Hyperion: Largest Known Galaxy Proto Supercluster

Mon, 29/10/2018 - 13:00

How did galaxies form in the early universe? How did galaxies form in the early universe?


Apollo 12 Visits Surveyor 3

Sun, 28/10/2018 - 11:00

Apollo 12 Visits Surveyor 3 Apollo 12 Visits Surveyor 3


Meteor, Comet, and Seagull (Nebula)

Sat, 27/10/2018 - 09:00

A meteor, a comet, and a photogenic nebula have all been captured in this single image. A meteor, a comet, and a photogenic nebula have all been captured in this single image.


Halo of the Cat s Eye

Fri, 26/10/2018 - 07:00

Halo of the Cat s Eye Halo of the Cat s Eye


Summer to Winter Milky Way

Thu, 25/10/2018 - 05:00

Taken near local midnight, this autumn night's panorama follows the Taken near local midnight, this autumn night's panorama follows the


Cherenkov Telescope at Sunset

Wed, 24/10/2018 - 16:00

On October 10, a new telescope reflected the light On October 10, a new telescope reflected the light


M15: Dense Globular Star Cluster

Tue, 23/10/2018 - 14:00

 Dense Globular Star Cluster M15: Dense Globular Star Cluster


Jupiter in Ultraviolet from Hubble

Mon, 22/10/2018 - 12:00

Jupiter looks a bit different in ultraviolet light. Jupiter looks a bit different in ultraviolet light.


M16: In and Around the Eagle Nebula

Sun, 21/10/2018 - 10:00

From afar, the whole thing looks like an From afar, the whole thing looks like an


Orion in Red and Blue

Sat, 20/10/2018 - 08:00

When did Orion become so flashy? When did Orion become so flashy?


Skygazers on the Beach

Fri, 19/10/2018 - 06:00

Kona, a young boxer, is a dog who loves splashing in the waves Kona, a young boxer, is a dog who loves splashing in the waves


The Falcon 9 Nebula

Thu, 18/10/2018 - 17:00

Not the Not the