APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 9 hours 15 min ago

Abell 370: Galaxy Cluster Gravitational Lens

Mon, 25/03/2019 - 08:00

What are those strange arcs? What are those strange arcs?


Horsehead and Orion Nebulas

Sun, 24/03/2019 - 06:00

Horsehead and Orion Nebulas Horsehead and Orion Nebulas


M106: A Spiral Galaxy with a Strange Center

Sat, 23/03/2019 - 17:00

What's happening at the center of spiral galaxy M106? What's happening at the center of spiral galaxy M106?


NGC 3324 in Carina

Fri, 22/03/2019 - 15:00

NGC 3324 in Carina NGC 3324 in Carina


A View Toward M101

Thu, 21/03/2019 - 13:00

Big, beautiful spiral galaxy M101 is one of the last Big, beautiful spiral galaxy M101 is one of the last


Perseverance Valley Panorama

Wed, 20/03/2019 - 11:00

Mars exploration rover Mars exploration rover


Highlights of the North Spring Sky

Tue, 19/03/2019 - 09:00

Highlights of the North Spring Sky Highlights of the North Spring Sky


Touchdown on Asteroid Ryugu

Mon, 18/03/2019 - 07:00

Last month, humanity bounced a robot off an asteroid. Last month, humanity bounced a robot off an asteroid.


The Central Magnetic Field of the Cigar Galaxy

Sun, 17/03/2019 - 17:00

Are galaxies giant magnets? Are galaxies giant magnets?


Moonrise Through Mauna Keas Shadow

Sat, 16/03/2019 - 15:00

Moonrise Through Mauna Keas Shadow Moonrise Through Mauna Keas Shadow


Crescent Enceladus

Fri, 15/03/2019 - 13:00

Peering from the shadows, the Peering from the shadows, the


Stardust and Starlight in M78

Thu, 14/03/2019 - 11:00

Stardust and Starlight in M78 Stardust and Starlight in M78


Sharpless 249 and the Jellyfish Nebula

Wed, 13/03/2019 - 10:00

Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in


A February without Sunpots

Tue, 12/03/2019 - 08:00

Where have all the sunspots gone? Where have all the sunspots gone?


X Ray Superbubbles in Galaxy NGC 3079

Mon, 11/03/2019 - 06:00

What created these huge galactic superbubbles? What created these huge galactic superbubbles?


Celestial Alignment over Sicilian Shore

Sun, 10/03/2019 - 17:00

This was a sunrise to remember. This was a sunrise to remember.


The Orion Bullets

Sat, 09/03/2019 - 15:00

Why are bullets of gas shooting out of the Orion Nebula? Why are bullets of gas shooting out of the Orion Nebula?


NGC 6302: The Butterfly Nebula

Fri, 08/03/2019 - 13:00

The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often


A Charioteer s Comet

Thu, 07/03/2019 - 11:00

A Charioteer s Comet A Charioteer s Comet


Sharpest Ultima Thule

Wed, 06/03/2019 - 09:00

On January 1, New Horizons swooped to within 3,500 kilometers of the On January 1, New Horizons swooped to within 3,500 kilometers of the