APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 12 hours 25 min ago

NGC 253: Dusty Island Universe

Wed, 28/03/2018 - 16:00

 Dusty Island Universe NGC 253: Dusty Island Universe


Camera Orion

Tue, 27/03/2018 - 15:00

Do you recognize this constellation? Do you recognize this constellation?


Chicagohenge: Equinox in an Aligned City

Mon, 26/03/2018 - 13:00

Sometimes, in a way, Chicago is like a modern Sometimes, in a way, Chicago is like a modern


The Nebra Sky Disk

Sun, 25/03/2018 - 11:00

Some consider it the oldest known illustration of the night sky. Some consider it the oldest known illustration of the night sky.


Rotating Moon from LRO

Sat, 24/03/2018 - 09:00

No one, presently, sees the Moon rotate like this. No one, presently, sees the Moon rotate like this.


The Crab from Space

Fri, 23/03/2018 - 07:00

The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on


The Seagull and The Duck

Thu, 22/03/2018 - 18:00

Seen as a seagull and a duck, these nebulae are Seen as a seagull and a duck, these nebulae are


Catalog Entry Number 1

Wed, 21/03/2018 - 16:00

Catalog Entry Number 1 Catalog Entry Number 1


Night Sky Highlights: March to May

Tue, 20/03/2018 - 14:00

 March to May Night Sky Highlights: March to May


The Complete Galactic Plane: Up and Down

Mon, 19/03/2018 - 12:00

Is it possible to capture the entire plane of our galaxy in a single image? Is it possible to capture the entire plane of our galaxy in a single image?


Flying over the Earth at Night II

Sun, 18/03/2018 - 10:00

What would it be like to orbit the Earth? What would it be like to orbit the Earth?


Dual Particle Beams in Herbig Haro 24

Sat, 17/03/2018 - 08:00

Dual Particle Beams in Herbig Haro 24 Dual Particle Beams in Herbig Haro 24


Phases of the Moon

Fri, 16/03/2018 - 06:00

Phases of the Moon Phases of the Moon


Horsehead: A Wider View

Thu, 15/03/2018 - 17:00

Combined image data from the massive, Combined image data from the massive,


Cyclones at Jupiter s North Pole

Wed, 14/03/2018 - 15:00

Cyclones at Jupiter s North Pole Cyclones at Jupiter s North Pole


Arcs, Jets, and Shocks near NGC 1999

Tue, 13/03/2018 - 13:00

This tantalizing array of nebulas and stars can be found This tantalizing array of nebulas and stars can be found


Colorful Airglow Bands Surround Milky Way

Mon, 12/03/2018 - 11:00

Why would the sky glow like a giant repeating rainbow?  Why would the sky glow like a giant repeating rainbow?


The Hubble Ultra Deep Field in Light and Sound

Sun, 11/03/2018 - 09:00

Have you heard about the Hubble Ultra-Deep Field? Have you heard about the Hubble Ultra-Deep Field?


Clouds, Birds, Moon, Venus

Sat, 10/03/2018 - 07:00

Sometimes the sky above can become quite a show. Sometimes the sky above can become quite a show.


Southwest Mare Fecunditatis

Fri, 09/03/2018 - 18:00

Southwest Mare Fecunditatis Southwest Mare Fecunditatis