APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 9 hours 43 min ago

GOES-16: Moon over Planet Earth

Wed, 01/02/2017 - 07:00

Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station,


Cassinis Grand Finale Tour at Saturn

Tue, 31/01/2017 - 07:00

Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn. Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn.


M78 and Orion Dust Reflections

Mon, 30/01/2017 - 07:00

M78 and Orion Dust Reflections M78 and Orion Dust Reflections


Winter Hexagon over Manla Reservoir

Sun, 29/01/2017 - 07:00

If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.  If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.


SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit

Sat, 28/01/2017 - 07:00

SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit


Daphnis the Wavemaker

Fri, 27/01/2017 - 07:00

Daphnis the Wavemaker Daphnis the Wavemaker


Layer Cake Sunset

Thu, 26/01/2017 - 07:00

On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot. On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot.


The Elephant's Trunk Nebula in Cepheus

Wed, 25/01/2017 - 07:00

Like an illustration in a galactic Like an illustration in a galactic


Space Station Vista: Planet and Galaxy

Tue, 24/01/2017 - 07:00

If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see? If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see?


Fly Me to the Moon

Mon, 23/01/2017 - 07:00

No, this is not a good way to No, this is not a good way to


Geostationary Highway through Orion

Sun, 22/01/2017 - 07:00

Geostationary Highway through Orion   Geostationary Highway through Orion


The Matter of the Bullet Cluster

Sat, 21/01/2017 - 07:00

What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster? What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster?


Stardust in the Perseus Molecular cloud

Fri, 20/01/2017 - 07:00

Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape. Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape.


When Mars met Neptune

Thu, 19/01/2017 - 07:00

On January 1, a On January 1, a


Edge On NGC 891

Wed, 18/01/2017 - 07:00

Edge On NGC 891 Edge On NGC 891


Mimas, Crater, and Mountain

Tue, 17/01/2017 - 07:00

Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a


Sentinels of a Northern Sky

Mon, 16/01/2017 - 07:00

Who guards the north? Who guards the north?


In the Center of Spiral Galaxy NGC 5033

Sun, 15/01/2017 - 07:00

What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033? What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033?


IC 4406: A Seemingly Square Nebula

Sat, 14/01/2017 - 07:00

How can a round star make a square nebula?  How can a round star make a square nebula?


Sharpless 249 and the Jellyfish Nebula

Fri, 13/01/2017 - 07:00

Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in