APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 4 hours 42 min ago

InSight Lander Takes Selfie on Mars

Sun, 27/01/2019 - 13:00

This is what NASA's Insight lander looks like on Mars. This is what NASA's Insight lander looks like on Mars.


A Total Lunar Eclipse Video

Sat, 26/01/2019 - 11:00

Tonight a bright full Moon will fade to red. Tonight a bright full Moon will fade to red.


Total Lunar Eclipse at Moonset

Fri, 25/01/2019 - 10:00

The Moon slid The Moon slid


Circumpolar Star Trails

Thu, 24/01/2019 - 08:00

Circumpolar Star Trails Circumpolar Star Trails


Cabin Under the Stars

Wed, 23/01/2019 - 06:00

Gocka's, a family nickname for the mountain cabin, Gocka's, a family nickname for the mountain cabin,


IC 342: The Hidden Galaxy

Tue, 22/01/2019 - 17:00

 The Hidden Galaxy IC 342: The Hidden Galaxy


The Heart and Soul Nebulas

Mon, 21/01/2019 - 15:00

Is the heart and soul of our Galaxy located in Is the heart and soul of our Galaxy located in


Meteor and Milky Way over the Alps

Sun, 20/01/2019 - 13:00

Now this was a view with a thrill. Now this was a view with a thrill.


Tycho Supernova Remnant in X-ray

Sat, 19/01/2019 - 11:00

What star created this huge puffball?  What star created this huge puffball?


Milky Way Falls

Fri, 18/01/2019 - 09:00

Milky Way Falls Milky Way Falls


Partial Eclipse over Beijing

Thu, 17/01/2019 - 07:00

On January 6 the New Moon rose in silhouette with the Sun On January 6 the New Moon rose in silhouette with the Sun


Vela Supernova Remnant Mosaic

Wed, 16/01/2019 - 18:00

The plane of our Milky Way Galaxy runs through this The plane of our Milky Way Galaxy runs through this


Quadrantids

Tue, 15/01/2019 - 16:00

Named for a Named for a


HESS Telescopes Explore the High Energy Sky

Mon, 14/01/2019 - 14:00

They may look like modern mechanical dinosaurs but they are enormous swiveling eyes that watch the sky. They may look like modern mechanical dinosaurs but they are enormous swiveling eyes that watch the sky.


Stars, Meteors, and a Comet in Taurus

Sun, 13/01/2019 - 12:00

This was an unusual night to look in the direction of the Bull. This was an unusual night to look in the direction of the Bull.


A Laser Strike at the Galactic Center

Sat, 12/01/2019 - 10:00

Why are these people shooting a powerful laser into the center of our Galaxy?  Why are these people shooting a powerful laser into the center of our Galaxy?


Yutu 2 on the Farside

Fri, 11/01/2019 - 08:00

Yutu 2 on the Farside Yutu 2 on the Farside


Ultima Thule Rotation Gif

Thu, 10/01/2019 - 06:00

Ultima Thule Rotation Gif Ultima Thule Rotation Gif


Ultima and Thule

Wed, 09/01/2019 - 17:00

On January 1 On January 1


The Orion Nebula in Infrared from WISE

Tue, 08/01/2019 - 16:00

The Great Nebula in Orion is an intriguing place.  The Great Nebula in Orion is an intriguing place.