APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 5 hours 53 min ago

Fermi Science Playoffs

Thu, 14/06/2018 - 07:00

Fermi Science Playoffs Fermi Science Playoffs


The Clash of NGC 3256

Wed, 13/06/2018 - 18:00

Marked by an unusually bright central region, swirling dust lanes, Marked by an unusually bright central region, swirling dust lanes,


A Sun Pillar over Norway

Tue, 12/06/2018 - 16:00

A Sun Pillar over Norway A Sun Pillar over Norway


Complex Jupiter

Mon, 11/06/2018 - 14:00

How complex is Jupiter? How complex is Jupiter?


Moon Setting Behind Teide Volcano

Sun, 10/06/2018 - 12:00

These people are not in danger. These people are not in danger.


Saturn's Iapetus: Painted Moon

Sat, 09/06/2018 - 10:00

What has happened to Saturn's moon Iapetus?  What has happened to Saturn's moon Iapetus?


Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky

Fri, 08/06/2018 - 08:00

Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky


Mars Approach

Thu, 07/06/2018 - 06:00

Since the distance from Earth to Mars changes drastically as Since the distance from Earth to Mars changes drastically as


NGC 6744 Close Up

Wed, 06/06/2018 - 17:00

Beautiful spiral galaxy NGC 6744 is nearly 175,000 light-years Beautiful spiral galaxy NGC 6744 is nearly 175,000 light-years


The Case of the Backwards Orbiting Asteroid

Tue, 05/06/2018 - 15:00

Why does asteroid 2015 BZ509 orbit the Sun the backwards? Why does asteroid 2015 BZ509 orbit the Sun the backwards?


Aurora and Manicouagan Crater from the Space Station

Mon, 04/06/2018 - 13:00

 an aurora, airglow, one of the oldest impact craters on the Earth, snow and ice, stars, city lights, and part of the International Space Station? How many of these can you find in today's featured photograph: an aurora, airglow, one of the oldest impact craters on the Earth, snow and ice, stars, city lights, and part of the International Space Station?


Seven Dusty Sisters

Sun, 03/06/2018 - 11:00

Is this really the famous Pleaides star cluster? Is this really the famous Pleaides star cluster?


Coronal Rain on the Sun

Sat, 02/06/2018 - 09:00

Does it rain on the Does it rain on the


Titan: Moon over Saturn

Fri, 01/06/2018 - 07:00

Like Earth's moon, Like Earth's moon,


Galaxies Away

Thu, 31/05/2018 - 18:00

This stunning group of galaxies is far, far away, This stunning group of galaxies is far, far away,


The Gum Nebula Expanse

Wed, 30/05/2018 - 16:00

Named for a cosmic cloud hunter, Australian astronomer Named for a cosmic cloud hunter, Australian astronomer


Spiral Galaxy NGC 4038 in Collision

Tue, 29/05/2018 - 14:00

This galaxy is having a bad millennium. This galaxy is having a bad millennium.


Craters and Shadows at the Lunar Terminator

Mon, 28/05/2018 - 12:00

Why does the right part of this image of the Moon stand out? Why does the right part of this image of the Moon stand out?


Jupiter Cloud Animation from Juno

Sun, 27/05/2018 - 10:00

How do Jupiter's clouds move? How do Jupiter's clouds move?


In the Heart of the Tarantula Nebula

Sat, 26/05/2018 - 08:00

In the heart of monstrous In the heart of monstrous