APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 4 hours 40 min ago

Venus Unveiled

Sat, 16/02/2019 - 13:00

What does What does


Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy

Fri, 15/02/2019 - 11:00

Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy Comet Iwamoto and the Sombrero Galaxy


Moon, Four Planets, and Emu

Thu, 14/02/2019 - 09:00

Moon, Four Planets, and Emu Moon, Four Planets, and Emu


Fox Fur, Unicorn, and Christmas Tree

Wed, 13/02/2019 - 07:00

Clouds of glowing hydrogen gas fill this colorful skyscape in the faint Clouds of glowing hydrogen gas fill this colorful skyscape in the faint


Moon and Venus Appulse over a Tree

Tue, 12/02/2019 - 18:00

What's that bright spot near the Moon? What's that bright spot near the Moon?


Perijove 16: Passing Jupiter

Mon, 11/02/2019 - 16:00

Watch Juno zoom past Jupiter Watch Juno zoom past Jupiter


Henize 70: A Superbubble in the LMC

Sun, 10/02/2019 - 14:00

Massive stars profoundly affect their galactic environments. Massive stars profoundly affect their galactic environments.


An Airglow Fan from Lake to Sky

Sat, 09/02/2019 - 12:00

Why would the sky look like a giant fan? Why would the sky look like a giant fan?


LDN 1622: Dark Nebula in Orion

Fri, 08/02/2019 - 10:00

The silhouette of an intriguing The silhouette of an intriguing


Twin Galaxies in Virgo

Thu, 07/02/2019 - 09:00

Spiral galaxy pair NGC 4567 and NGC 4568 share Spiral galaxy pair NGC 4567 and NGC 4568 share


Sharpless 308: Star Bubble

Wed, 06/02/2019 - 07:00

Blown by fast winds from a hot, massive star, Blown by fast winds from a hot, massive star,


Wide Field View of Great American Eclipse

Tue, 05/02/2019 - 18:00

Only in the fleeting darkness of a total solar eclipse is the Only in the fleeting darkness of a total solar eclipse is the


Ultima Thule from New Horizons

Mon, 04/02/2019 - 16:00

How do distant asteroids differ from those near the Sun? How do distant asteroids differ from those near the Sun?


The Long Gas Tail of Spiral Galaxy D100

Sun, 03/02/2019 - 14:00

Why is there long red streak attached to this galaxy? Why is there long red streak attached to this galaxy?


From the Northern to the Southern Cross

Sat, 02/02/2019 - 12:00

There is a road that connects the There is a road that connects the


The Umbra of Earth

Fri, 01/02/2019 - 10:00

The dark, inner shadow of planet Earth The dark, inner shadow of planet Earth


Moon Struck

Thu, 31/01/2019 - 08:00

Moon Struck Moon Struck


Matterhorn, Moon, and Meteor

Wed, 30/01/2019 - 06:00

Matterhorn, Moon, and Meteor Matterhorn, Moon, and Meteor


Orion over the Austrian Alps

Tue, 29/01/2019 - 17:00

Do you recognize this constellation? Do you recognize this constellation?


Lunar Eclipse over Cologne Cathedral

Mon, 28/01/2019 - 15:00

Why would a bright full Moon suddenly become dark? Why would a bright full Moon suddenly become dark?