APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 11 hours 19 min ago

Gemini Stars Pollux and Castor

Mon, 22/05/2017 - 13:00

Who are the twins of Gemini? Who are the twins of Gemini?


Lightning Storm Moves Across the USA

Sun, 21/05/2017 - 11:00

Watch a huge lightning storm move across the eastern USA. Watch a huge lightning storm move across the eastern USA.


Ganymede: The Largest Moon

Sat, 20/05/2017 - 09:00

What does the largest moon in the What does the largest moon in the


Planet Aurora

Fri, 19/05/2017 - 07:00

Planet Aurora Planet Aurora


M13: The Great Globular Cluster in Hercules

Thu, 18/05/2017 - 18:00

 The Great Globular Cluster in Hercules M13: The Great Globular Cluster in Hercules


The Multiwavelength Crab

Wed, 17/05/2017 - 16:00

The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on


UGC 1810: Wildly Interacting Galaxy from Hubble

Tue, 16/05/2017 - 14:00

What's happening to this spiral galaxy? What's happening to this spiral galaxy?


Big Dipper Above and Below Chilean Volcanoes

Mon, 15/05/2017 - 12:00

Do you see it?  Do you see it?


Ancient Ogunquit Beach on Mars

Sun, 14/05/2017 - 10:00

This was once a beach -- on ancient Mars. This was once a beach -- on ancient Mars.


Star Formation in the Tadpole Nebula

Sat, 13/05/2017 - 08:00

What's all of the commotion in the Tadpole nebula? What's all of the commotion in the Tadpole nebula?


Galaxy Cluster Abell 370 and Beyond

Fri, 12/05/2017 - 06:00

Some 4 billion light-years away, massive galaxy cluster Abell 370 Some 4 billion light-years away, massive galaxy cluster Abell 370


The Bull's Eye and the Young Moon

Thu, 11/05/2017 - 17:00

The Bull's Eye and the Young Moon The Bull's Eye and the Young Moon


The Perseus Cluster Waves

Wed, 10/05/2017 - 15:00

The Perseus Cluster Waves The Perseus Cluster Waves


NGC 3628: The Hamburger Galaxy

Tue, 09/05/2017 - 13:00

No, hamburgers are not this big. No, hamburgers are not this big.


Approach above Sunset

Mon, 08/05/2017 - 11:00

There it is! There it is!


Cooling Neutron Star

Sun, 07/05/2017 - 09:00

The bright source near the center is a neutron star, The bright source near the center is a neutron star,


Cassini Looks Out from Saturn

Sat, 06/05/2017 - 07:00

This is what Saturn looks like from inside the rings. This is what Saturn looks like from inside the rings.


Arches of Spring

Fri, 05/05/2017 - 18:00

Arches of Spring Arches of Spring


Exploring the Antennae

Thu, 04/05/2017 - 16:00

Some 60 million light-years away in the southerly Some 60 million light-years away in the southerly


Lyrids in Southern Skies

Wed, 03/05/2017 - 14:00

Lyrids in Southern Skies Lyrids in Southern Skies