APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 11 hours 43 min ago

Rocket Launch as Seen from the Space Station

Sun, 02/12/2018 - 15:00

Have you ever seen a rocket launch -- from space? Have you ever seen a rocket launch -- from space?


Phobos: Doomed Moon of Mars

Sat, 01/12/2018 - 13:00

This moon is doomed. This moon is doomed.


Shipwreck at Moonset

Fri, 30/11/2018 - 11:00

A crescent Moon is about to sink under the western horizon A crescent Moon is about to sink under the western horizon


Good Morning Leonid

Thu, 29/11/2018 - 09:00

On November 17, just an hour before sunrise, On November 17, just an hour before sunrise,


Portrait of NGC 281

Wed, 28/11/2018 - 07:00

Look through the cosmic cloud cataloged as NGC 281 Look through the cosmic cloud cataloged as NGC 281


Swirls and Colors on Jupiter from Juno

Tue, 27/11/2018 - 06:00

What creates the colors in Jupiter's clouds? What creates the colors in Jupiter's clouds?


Unexpected Trajectory Interstellar Asteroid Oumuamua

Mon, 26/11/2018 - 17:00

Why is 'Oumuamua differing from its expected trajectory? Why is 'Oumuamua differing from its expected trajectory?


Gibbous Moon beyond Swedish Mountain

Sun, 25/11/2018 - 15:00

This is a gibbous Moon. This is a gibbous Moon.


Creature Aurora Over Norway

Sat, 24/11/2018 - 13:00

It was Halloween and the sky looked like a creature. It was Halloween and the sky looked like a creature.


The Tarantula Nebula

Fri, 23/11/2018 - 12:00

The Tarantula Nebula The Tarantula Nebula


The Hill, The Moon, and Saturn

Thu, 22/11/2018 - 10:00

The Hill, The Moon, and Saturn The Hill, The Moon, and Saturn


Comet 46P Wirtanen

Wed, 21/11/2018 - 08:00

Comet 46P Wirtanen Comet 46P Wirtanen


The Cave Nebula in Hydrogen, Oxygen, and Sulfur

Tue, 20/11/2018 - 06:00

What's inside this cosmic cave? What's inside this cosmic cave?


Rotating Asteroid Bennu from OSIRIS REx

Mon, 19/11/2018 - 17:00

Could this close-by asteroid ever hit the Earth? Could this close-by asteroid ever hit the Earth?


The Lagoon Nebula is Stars, Gas, and Dust

Sun, 18/11/2018 - 15:00

The majestic The majestic


Astronaut Exploring: An Apollo 15 Panorama

Sat, 17/11/2018 - 13:00

What would it be like to explore the Moon? What would it be like to explore the Moon?


The Old Moon in the Young Moon's Arms

Fri, 16/11/2018 - 11:00

Tonight the Moon is Tonight the Moon is


Little Planet Lookout

Thu, 15/11/2018 - 09:00

Little Planet Lookout Little Planet Lookout


Mars in the Loop

Wed, 14/11/2018 - 07:00

This composite of images spaced some 5 to 9 days apart, This composite of images spaced some 5 to 9 days apart,


NGC 6188: The Dragons of Ara

Tue, 13/11/2018 - 17:00

Dark shapes with bright edges winging their way through dusty Dark shapes with bright edges winging their way through dusty