APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 12 hours 15 min ago

The Milky Way over the Seven Strong Men Rock Formations

Mon, 09/04/2018 - 13:00

You may have heard of the You may have heard of the


Moons, Rings, Shadows, Clouds: Saturn (Cassini)

Sun, 08/04/2018 - 11:00

While cruising around Saturn, While cruising around Saturn,


I Brought You the Moon

Sat, 07/04/2018 - 09:00

I love you so much that I brought you the Moon.  I love you so much that I brought you the Moon.


Twilight in a Western Sky

Fri, 06/04/2018 - 07:00

A slender crescent Moon and inner A slender crescent Moon and inner


NGC 247 and Friends

Thu, 05/04/2018 - 18:00

About 70,000 light-years across, About 70,000 light-years across,


NGC 2023 in the Horsehead's Shadow

Wed, 04/04/2018 - 16:00

Carved by a bright Carved by a bright


Blue Moon Tree

Tue, 03/04/2018 - 14:00

Does an alignment like this occur only once in a blue moon? Does an alignment like this occur only once in a blue moon?


Mars Between Nebulas

Mon, 02/04/2018 - 12:00

What's that bright red spot between the Lagoon and Trifid Nebulas? What's that bright red spot between the Lagoon and Trifid Nebulas?


The Coma Cluster of Galaxies

Sun, 01/04/2018 - 10:00

Almost every object in the above photograph is a galaxy. Almost every object in the above photograph is a galaxy.


Announcing Nova Carinae 2018

Sat, 31/03/2018 - 09:00

How bright will Nova Carinae 2018 become? How bright will Nova Carinae 2018 become?


NGC 602 and Beyond

Fri, 30/03/2018 - 07:00

Near the outskirts of the Near the outskirts of the


Sharpless 249 and the Jellyfish Nebula

Thu, 29/03/2018 - 18:00

Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in


NGC 253: Dusty Island Universe

Wed, 28/03/2018 - 16:00

 Dusty Island Universe NGC 253: Dusty Island Universe


Camera Orion

Tue, 27/03/2018 - 15:00

Do you recognize this constellation? Do you recognize this constellation?


Chicagohenge: Equinox in an Aligned City

Mon, 26/03/2018 - 13:00

Sometimes, in a way, Chicago is like a modern Sometimes, in a way, Chicago is like a modern


The Nebra Sky Disk

Sun, 25/03/2018 - 11:00

Some consider it the oldest known illustration of the night sky. Some consider it the oldest known illustration of the night sky.


Rotating Moon from LRO

Sat, 24/03/2018 - 09:00

No one, presently, sees the Moon rotate like this. No one, presently, sees the Moon rotate like this.


The Crab from Space

Fri, 23/03/2018 - 07:00

The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on


The Seagull and The Duck

Thu, 22/03/2018 - 18:00

Seen as a seagull and a duck, these nebulae are Seen as a seagull and a duck, these nebulae are


Catalog Entry Number 1

Wed, 21/03/2018 - 16:00

Catalog Entry Number 1 Catalog Entry Number 1