APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 12 hours 45 min ago

Puppis A Supernova Remnant

Thu, 05/10/2017 - 10:00

Puppis A Supernova Remnant Puppis A Supernova Remnant


LIGO Virgo GW170814 Skymap

Wed, 04/10/2017 - 08:00

LIGO Virgo GW170814 Skymap LIGO Virgo GW170814 Skymap


Layers of a Total Solar Eclipse

Tue, 03/10/2017 - 07:00

Neither rain, nor snow, nor dark of night can keep a space-based spacecraft Neither rain, nor snow, nor dark of night can keep a space-based spacecraft


Cassinis Last Ring Portrait at Saturn

Mon, 02/10/2017 - 18:00

How should Cassini say farewell to Saturn? How should Cassini say farewell to Saturn?


Massive Shell Expelling Star G79 29 0 46

Sun, 01/10/2017 - 16:00

Stars this volatile are quite rare. Stars this volatile are quite rare.


How to Identify that Light in the Sky

Sat, 30/09/2017 - 14:00

What is that light in the sky? What is that light in the sky?


A Conjunction of Comets

Fri, 29/09/2017 - 12:00

A conjunction A conjunction


Solar Eclipse Solargraph

Thu, 28/09/2017 - 10:00

Today is the Today is the


A September Morning Sky

Wed, 27/09/2017 - 08:00

The Moon, three planets, and a bright star gathered near the The Moon, three planets, and a bright star gathered near the


The Big Corona

Tue, 26/09/2017 - 06:00

Most photographs don't adequately portray the magnificence of the Most photographs don't adequately portray the magnificence of the


Veil Nebula: Wisps of an Exploded Star

Mon, 25/09/2017 - 17:00

Wisps like this are all that remain visible of a Milky Way star.  Wisps like this are all that remain visible of a Milky Way star.


Orion above Easter Island

Sun, 24/09/2017 - 15:00

Why were the statues on Why were the statues on


Bright Spiral Galaxy M81

Sat, 23/09/2017 - 13:00

One of the brightest galaxies in planet Earth's sky is similar in size One of the brightest galaxies in planet Earth's sky is similar in size


Cassini's Final Image

Fri, 22/09/2017 - 11:00

As planned, the Cassini spacecraft impacted the As planned, the Cassini spacecraft impacted the


100 Steps Forward

Thu, 21/09/2017 - 09:00

A beautiful conjunction of Venus and Moon, human, sand, and A beautiful conjunction of Venus and Moon, human, sand, and


Flare Well AR2673

Wed, 20/09/2017 - 07:00

Almost out of view from Almost out of view from


NGC 6334: The Cats Paw Nebula

Tue, 19/09/2017 - 18:00

Nebulas are perhaps as famous for being identified with familiar shapes as perhaps Nebulas are perhaps as famous for being identified with familiar shapes as perhaps


A Total Solar Eclipse Close Up in Real Time

Mon, 18/09/2017 - 16:00

How would you feel if the Sun disappeared? How would you feel if the Sun disappeared?


Cassini Approaches Saturn

Sun, 17/09/2017 - 14:00

What would it look like to approach Saturn in a spaceship? What would it look like to approach Saturn in a spaceship?


Swirling Around the Eye of Hurricane Irma

Sat, 16/09/2017 - 12:00

Why does a hurricane have an eye at its center? Why does a hurricane have an eye at its center?