APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 8 hours 54 min ago

Supernumerary Rainbows over New Jersey

Mon, 08/10/2018 - 11:00

Yes, but can your rainbow do this? Yes, but can your rainbow do this?


The First Rocket Launch from Cape Canaveral

Sun, 07/10/2018 - 09:00

A new chapter in space flight began in 1950 with the A new chapter in space flight began in 1950 with the


The Lonely Neutron Star in Supernova E0102 72.3

Sat, 06/10/2018 - 07:00

Why is this neutron star off-center? Why is this neutron star off-center?


55 Nights with Saturn

Fri, 05/10/2018 - 18:00

55 Nights with Saturn 55 Nights with Saturn


The Light, the Dark, and the Dusty

Thu, 04/10/2018 - 16:00

This colorful skyscape spans about two full moons across nebula rich This colorful skyscape spans about two full moons across nebula rich


M33: Triangulum Galaxy

Wed, 03/10/2018 - 14:00

The small, northern constellation The small, northern constellation


The Sun's Spectrum with its Missing Colors

Tue, 02/10/2018 - 12:00

It is still not known why the Sun's light is missing some colors. It is still not known why the Sun's light is missing some colors.


Highlights of the North Autumn Sky

Mon, 01/10/2018 - 11:00

Highlights of the North Autumn Sky Highlights of the North Autumn Sky


Rover 1A Hops on Asteroid Ryugu

Sun, 30/09/2018 - 09:00

Two small robots have begun hopping around the surface of asteroid Ryugu. Two small robots have begun hopping around the surface of asteroid Ryugu.


Equinox: Analemma over the Callanish Stones

Sat, 29/09/2018 - 07:00

Does the Sun return to the same spot on the sky every day at the same time? Does the Sun return to the same spot on the sky every day at the same time?


Window Seat over Hudson Bay

Fri, 28/09/2018 - 18:00

On the August 18 night flight from San Francisco to Zurich, On the August 18 night flight from San Francisco to Zurich,


Irregular Galaxy NGC 55

Thu, 27/09/2018 - 16:00

Irregular galaxy NGC 55 is thought to be similar to the Large Magellanic Irregular galaxy NGC 55 is thought to be similar to the Large Magellanic


Stars and Dust in Corona Australis

Wed, 26/09/2018 - 15:00

Cosmic dust clouds and young, energetic stars Cosmic dust clouds and young, energetic stars


Cocoon Nebula Deep Field

Tue, 25/09/2018 - 13:00

Inside the Cocoon Nebula is a newly developing cluster of stars. Inside the Cocoon Nebula is a newly developing cluster of stars.


Salt Pepper and Ice

Mon, 24/09/2018 - 11:00

There's a "camera" comet now moving across the sky.


Cosmic Collision Forges Galactic Ring

Sun, 23/09/2018 - 09:00

How could a galaxy become shaped like a ring?  How could a galaxy become shaped like a ring?


A Solar Filament Erupts

Sat, 22/09/2018 - 07:00

What's happened to our Sun? What's happened to our Sun?


Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way

Fri, 21/09/2018 - 18:00

Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way


Ice Halos at Yellowknife

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

Ice Halos at Yellowknife Ice Halos at Yellowknife


Comet, Clusters, and Nebulae

Wed, 19/09/2018 - 14:00

Bright enough for binocular viewing Bright enough for binocular viewing