APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 8 hours 24 min ago

Perijove Passage

Fri, 09/06/2017 - 10:00

On May 19, the Juno spacecraft once again swung by Jupiter in its On May 19, the Juno spacecraft once again swung by Jupiter in its


Black Holes of Known Mass

Thu, 08/06/2017 - 08:00

Black Holes of Known Mass Black Holes of Known Mass


Shadowrise and Sunset

Wed, 07/06/2017 - 06:00

The road tracking through this stunning 360 degree The road tracking through this stunning 360 degree


Approaching the Bubble Nebula

Tue, 06/06/2017 - 17:00

What would it look like to approach the Bubble Nebula? What would it look like to approach the Bubble Nebula?


A Kalahari Sky

Mon, 05/06/2017 - 15:00

You wake up in the You wake up in the


Beneath Jupiter

Sun, 04/06/2017 - 13:00

Jupiter is stranger than we knew. Jupiter is stranger than we knew.


Collapse in Hebes Chasma on Mars

Sat, 03/06/2017 - 11:00

What's happened in Hebes Chasma on Mars? What's happened in Hebes Chasma on Mars?


Comet Clark is near the Edge.

Fri, 02/06/2017 - 09:00

Sweeping through this stunning field of view, Sweeping through this stunning field of view,


Spiral Galaxy NGC 6744

Thu, 01/06/2017 - 07:00

Spiral Galaxy NGC 6744 Spiral Galaxy NGC 6744


Star Cluster, Spiral Galaxy, Supernova

Wed, 31/05/2017 - 18:00

A cosmic snapshot from May 19, A cosmic snapshot from May 19,


NGC 4565: Galaxy on Edge

Tue, 30/05/2017 - 16:00

Is our Galaxy this thin? Is our Galaxy this thin?


Approaching Jupiter

Mon, 29/05/2017 - 14:00

What would it look like to approach Jupiter? What would it look like to approach Jupiter?


A Zodiacal Sky over Horseshoe Bend

Sun, 28/05/2017 - 12:00

What's causing the unusual ray of white light extending upward from the central horizon? What's causing the unusual ray of white light extending upward from the central horizon?


In the Center of the Lagoon Nebula

Sat, 27/05/2017 - 10:00

The center of the Lagoon Nebula is a The center of the Lagoon Nebula is a


A View Toward M101

Fri, 26/05/2017 - 08:00

Big, beautiful spiral galaxy M101 is one of the last Big, beautiful spiral galaxy M101 is one of the last


Wolf Lundmark Melotte

Thu, 25/05/2017 - 06:00

Named for the three astronomers instrumental in its discovery and Named for the three astronomers instrumental in its discovery and


Simeis 147: Supernova Remnant

Wed, 24/05/2017 - 17:00

It's easy to get lost following intricate filaments in this It's easy to get lost following intricate filaments in this


Galaxy Group Hickson 90

Tue, 23/05/2017 - 15:00

Scanning the skies for galaxies, Canadian astronomer Scanning the skies for galaxies, Canadian astronomer


Gemini Stars Pollux and Castor

Mon, 22/05/2017 - 13:00

Who are the twins of Gemini? Who are the twins of Gemini?


Lightning Storm Moves Across the USA

Sun, 21/05/2017 - 11:00

Watch a huge lightning storm move across the eastern USA. Watch a huge lightning storm move across the eastern USA.