APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 7 hours 28 min ago

Cocoon Nebula Deep Field

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

Inside the Cocoon Nebula is a newly developing cluster of stars. Inside the Cocoon Nebula is a newly developing cluster of stars.


Salt Pepper and Ice

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

There's a "camera" comet now moving across the sky.


Cosmic Collision Forges Galactic Ring

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

How could a galaxy become shaped like a ring?  How could a galaxy become shaped like a ring?


A Solar Filament Erupts

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

What's happened to our Sun? What's happened to our Sun?


Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way


Ice Halos at Yellowknife

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

Ice Halos at Yellowknife Ice Halos at Yellowknife


Stars and Dust in Corona Australis

Thu, 20/09/2018 - 16:00

Cosmic dust clouds and young, energetic stars Cosmic dust clouds and young, energetic stars


Comet, Clusters, and Nebulae

Wed, 19/09/2018 - 14:00

Bright enough for binocular viewing Bright enough for binocular viewing


Lunations

Tue, 18/09/2018 - 12:00

Our Moon's appearance changes nightly.  Our Moon's appearance changes nightly.


Milky Way over Trolls Tongue

Mon, 17/09/2018 - 10:00

You have to take a You have to take a


Curiosity Vista from Vera Rubin Ridge

Sun, 16/09/2018 - 08:00

If you could stand on Mars -- what might you see? If you could stand on Mars -- what might you see?


M1: The Crab Nebula from Hubble

Sat, 15/09/2018 - 06:00

This is the mess that is left when a star explodes.  This is the mess that is left when a star explodes.


Real Time Perseid

Fri, 14/09/2018 - 17:00

Real Time Perseid Real Time Perseid


Saturn's North Polar Hexagon

Thu, 13/09/2018 - 15:00

Saturn's North Polar Hexagon Saturn's North Polar Hexagon


Along the Western Veil

Wed, 12/09/2018 - 13:00

Delicate in appearance, these filaments of shocked, glowing gas, Delicate in appearance, these filaments of shocked, glowing gas,


NGC 3628: Sideways Spiral Galaxy

Tue, 11/09/2018 - 11:00

What do spiral galaxies look like sideways? What do spiral galaxies look like sideways?


Moon behind Lava Fountain

Mon, 10/09/2018 - 09:00

What's happened to the Moon? What's happened to the Moon?


Aurora around Saturns North Pole

Sun, 09/09/2018 - 08:00

Are Saturn's auroras like Earth's? Are Saturn's auroras like Earth's?


A Powerful Solar Flare

Sat, 08/09/2018 - 06:00

A Powerful Solar Flare A Powerful Solar Flare


Aerosol Earth

Fri, 07/09/2018 - 17:00

Aerosol Earth Aerosol Earth