APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 4 hours 40 min ago

The Blue Horsehead Nebula in Infrared

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

The Blue Horsehead Nebula looks quite different in infrared light. The Blue Horsehead Nebula looks quite different in infrared light.


Meteor Over Crater Lake

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

Did you see it? Did you see it?


TESS Launch Close Up

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

NASA's NASA's


Moon in the Hyades

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

Moon in the Hyades Moon in the Hyades


NGC 7635: The Bubble Nebula

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

Blown by the wind from a massive star, this interstellar Blown by the wind from a massive star, this interstellar


Milky Way over Deadvlei in Namibia

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

What planet is this?  What planet is this?


Play Saturns Rings Like a Harp

Tue, 24/04/2018 - 14:00

Play Saturns Rings Like a Harp Play Saturns Rings Like a Harp


M57: The Ring Nebula

Mon, 23/04/2018 - 12:00

Except for the rings Except for the rings


Flyover of Jupiters North Pole in Infrared

Sun, 22/04/2018 - 10:00

What would it look like to fly over the North Pole of Jupiter? What would it look like to fly over the North Pole of Jupiter?


Space Shuttle Rising

Sat, 21/04/2018 - 08:00

What's that rising from the clouds?  What's that rising from the clouds?


Martian Chiaroscuro

Fri, 20/04/2018 - 07:00

Martian Chiaroscuro Martian Chiaroscuro


Facing NGC 3344

Thu, 19/04/2018 - 06:00

From our vantage point in the From our vantage point in the


M22 and the Wanderers

Wed, 18/04/2018 - 17:00

M22 and the Wanderers M22 and the Wanderers


Fortuitous Flash Candidate for the Farthest Star Yet Seen

Tue, 17/04/2018 - 15:00

Was this flash the farthest star yet seen? Was this flash the farthest star yet seen?


Dragon Aurora over Norway

Mon, 16/04/2018 - 13:00

What's that in the sky? What's that in the sky?


The Sun Unleashed: Monster Filament in Ultraviolet

Sun, 15/04/2018 - 11:00

One of the most spectacular solar sights is an explosive flare. One of the most spectacular solar sights is an explosive flare.


NGC 6960: The Witchs Broom Nebula

Sat, 14/04/2018 - 09:00

Ten thousand years ago, before the dawn of recorded human history, Ten thousand years ago, before the dawn of recorded human history,


Painting with Jupiter

Fri, 13/04/2018 - 07:00

Painting with Jupiter Painting with Jupiter


NGC 3324 in Carina

Thu, 12/04/2018 - 06:00

NGC 3324 in Carina NGC 3324 in Carina


NGC 289: Swirl in the Southern Sky

Wed, 11/04/2018 - 17:00

About 70 million light-years distant, gorgeous spiral galaxy NGC 289 is larger About 70 million light-years distant, gorgeous spiral galaxy NGC 289 is larger