APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 5 hours 15 min ago

Mars Engulfed

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

What's happened to Mars? What's happened to Mars?


Dusty With a Chance of Dust

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

Dusty With a Chance of Dust Dusty With a Chance of Dust


Little Planet Soyuz

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

Little Planet Soyuz Little Planet Soyuz


Six Planets from Yosemite

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

The five naked-eye planets, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, The five naked-eye planets, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn,


Red Cloudbow over Delaware

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

What kind of rainbow is this? What kind of rainbow is this?


Star Size Comparison 2

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

How big is our Sun compared to other stars? How big is our Sun compared to other stars?


An Active Prominence on the Sun

Mon, 18/06/2018 - 15:00

Sometimes the Sun's surface becomes a whirlwind of activity. Sometimes the Sun's surface becomes a whirlwind of activity.


At Last GLAST

Sun, 17/06/2018 - 13:00

Rising through a billowing cloud of smoke, Rising through a billowing cloud of smoke,


The Cat's Eye Nebula from Hubble

Sat, 16/06/2018 - 11:00

To some, it may look like a cat's eye. To some, it may look like a cat's eye.


Countryside Mars and Milky Way

Fri, 15/06/2018 - 09:00

Countryside Mars and Milky Way Countryside Mars and Milky Way


Fermi Science Playoffs

Thu, 14/06/2018 - 07:00

Fermi Science Playoffs Fermi Science Playoffs


The Clash of NGC 3256

Wed, 13/06/2018 - 18:00

Marked by an unusually bright central region, swirling dust lanes, Marked by an unusually bright central region, swirling dust lanes,


A Sun Pillar over Norway

Tue, 12/06/2018 - 16:00

A Sun Pillar over Norway A Sun Pillar over Norway


Complex Jupiter

Mon, 11/06/2018 - 14:00

How complex is Jupiter? How complex is Jupiter?


Moon Setting Behind Teide Volcano

Sun, 10/06/2018 - 12:00

These people are not in danger. These people are not in danger.


Saturn's Iapetus: Painted Moon

Sat, 09/06/2018 - 10:00

What has happened to Saturn's moon Iapetus?  What has happened to Saturn's moon Iapetus?


Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky

Fri, 08/06/2018 - 08:00

Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky Jupiter Season, Hawaiian Sky


Mars Approach

Thu, 07/06/2018 - 06:00

Since the distance from Earth to Mars changes drastically as Since the distance from Earth to Mars changes drastically as


NGC 6744 Close Up

Wed, 06/06/2018 - 17:00

Beautiful spiral galaxy NGC 6744 is nearly 175,000 light-years Beautiful spiral galaxy NGC 6744 is nearly 175,000 light-years


The Case of the Backwards Orbiting Asteroid

Tue, 05/06/2018 - 15:00

Why does asteroid 2015 BZ509 orbit the Sun the backwards? Why does asteroid 2015 BZ509 orbit the Sun the backwards?